Spring Happiness

For us, here in the Southern Hemisphere, September marks the beginning of spring and the ascent to the warmth of summer. I love being warm, I love blue skies and late evening walks with my dog.

Spring and autumn are my favourite seasons – for the relative warmth in my adopted home city and for the vivid colours and smells associated with these seasons.

I have been reading two sources of literature that have reminded me about the celebration of happiness. The August 2013 edition of Harper’s Bazaar (UK) has a cheerful focus with two prominent authors’ quotes regarding happiness:

“Happiness quite unshared can scarcely be called happiness; it has no taste.” Charlotte Bronte

“Happiness leaves such slender records; it is the dark days that are so voluminously documented.” Truman Capote

The other is Francoise Heritier’s The Sweetness of Life. This short book is a love song to life. She recommends “enjoying what you like without inhibitions (including the roar of racing cars).” p.7

Some of the things that make me happy include how my dog looks when we are walking, with his tongue hanging out, looking like he is grinning and there is nothing in the world other than him and I on that walk. Now that I have one, I realise what a delight a hug with your significant other can be – which is amusing to those who know me as I tend to have a large personal bubble.

the night circusIt is a joy to be recommended a book that you would never have found on your own, as I have been with The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. (I always welcome suggestions for a good read! Even though I always have a pile at least five high and a whole lot more on Good Reads, I love adding books to the list!)

It is also awesome to have had my sister here for the last week, it will be so hard saying goodbye, as she is a real source of love and joy, and can be a great partner in crime!

So, happy spring or happy Friday – whichever you can claim.

Leave a Reply

