Luke’s Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry Review

Pushing the LimitsPushing the Limits 

By Katie McGarry

Published by Harlequin in 2012

Echo Emerson can’t remember what happened the night she received the scars on her arms. Actually, she didn’t just repress the memory of that night, she repressed the entire day from her memory. Then she meets Noah, who has problems of his own, and they work together to solve their problems.

“‘If you’re scared, tell me. If you need to cry and scream, then do it. And you sure as hell don’t walk away from us because you think it would be better for me. Here’s the reality, Echo: I want to be by your side. If you want to go to the mall stark naked so you can show the world your scars, then let me hold your hand. If you want to see your mom, then tell me that too. I may not always understand, but damn, baby, I’ll try.’”

—Noah to Echo, Pushing the Limits

Pushing the Limits was quite an intense book. Both Echo and Noah have dealt with so many struggles in their short lives. After the night she can’t remember, Echo wakes up in the hospital with scars all over her arms, her only reminder that something horrible happened. Not only that, but she also lost her brother, Aires, who died after joining the Marines. Noah has faced loss, as well. His parents passed away and only he and his two younger brothers survived. He was separated from his brothers, who were taken under foster care, and Noah himself went through foster home after foster home, wanting to belong somewhere, wanting his family back. Throughout the entire novel, he is trying to take custody over his brother from their foster parents, who he needs to prove unfit. However, he must prove he is eligible, must prove to the system that he’s not a messed up, drug addict, attention-seeking teenage boy. Echo and Noah find each other and work together to solve their problems, and in the process, they fall in love.

Dare You To

I read the first chapter online and had to get it from the library. As soon as I got it, I couldn’t resist the temptation: I just had to read it. And I loved it. I liked both Echo and Noah. They are how you’d expect real people to be; they’re not perfect but they’re awesome in their own ways.

Overall, Pushing the Limits was amazing! It was brilliantly written. Katie McGarry has created such a unique story and kept me wanting more through to the end. I can’t wait to read the sequel, Dare You To.

2 thoughts on “Luke’s Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry Review

Leave a Reply

