Confessions of a Fancy Nerd Manifesto and Q&As

Who are we? What are we doing? And why? Below is a brief manifesto for Confessions of a Fancy Nerd and an introduction to Melissa and Luke (the humans behind Fancy Nerd).Fancy Nerd

Melissa: Reading and writing are my vehicles for developing my ideas and beliefs. My values, beliefs and ideals are constantly in flux, I don’t want to be held captive by stale ideas. The world changes quickly and education and self-awareness are vital to being an engaged, connected, productive human being.

I am always reading, analysing and considering how to articulate my learning. The pile of to-reads and to-sees will never end, even if I were granted an eternity with a library card (and I have high hopes for this), I would never satisfy my urge to learn.

Confessions of a Fancy Nerd is a place to share my adventures in reading, writing, movie/TV series watching and life in general – because I am doing it anyway, why not share it. It is such a joy to see Luke engaging and offering posts also. It is great because he reads a lot more Urban Fantasy and Young Adult fiction than I do, and he offers a unique point of view, being a sixteen-year-old student.

When my (three) brothers were young, I spent a lot of time reading to them, being read to by them and discussing what we were reading. Education is my core belief. Everyone should have the opportunity to access education (and the ability to engage).

It is my dream that everyone would cultivate a love of learning, and reading is an easily accessible way to do this.

With so many time constraints and multiple mediums vying for people’s attention, I hope that I can help people to decide what may be worth their precious time.

Below is a quick Q&A with Luke and myself:

What does your ideal day involve?

Melissa: Coffee with Luke, Yoga/Pilates, reading and writing, and walking the dog.

Luke: Coffee with Melissa, singing, reading and writing.

What is your favourite book?

M: Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen.

L: (At the moment) Starcrossed, by Josephine Angelini.

What is your favourite movie?

M: Pride and Prejudice (2005 adaptation).

L: (At the moment) Camp Rock.

What TV show can you not get enough of right now?

M: The Vampire Diaries

L: Revenge

What music/musicians are you obsessed with right now?

M: Florence and the Machine, Jana Kramer, Ellie Goulding, Pitt Bull (with almost anyone), Ricky Martin.

L: Demi Lovato, Hunter Hayes, Delta Goodrem.

What are your favourite charities/causes?

M: Education and equality (economically and socially)

L: Against animal cruelty (any cruelty, in general)

What’s your favourite quote?

M:  “To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived, this is to have succeeded.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

L: “When I get sad I stop being sad and be awesome instead.” —Barney Stinson (played by Neil Patrick Harris) in How I Met You Mother

Favourite style star?

Source: adpremmagray.wordpress.com

Source: adpremmagray.wordpress.com

M: Audrey Hepburn (the little black dress, the accessories, the hair!)

L: None

What things do you most want right now?

M: Pride and Prejudice (with the first edition text), another dog and a tiny house.

L: To sing, Demi Lovato (Demi) and Hunter Hayes (Hunter Hayes Encore) albums.

What would you like to do next, what’s the plan for 2013?

M: Read more. Write more – get all of the blog posts, article ideas, short story ideas, novel ideas and non-fiction book ideas out of my head.

L: Sing in front of an audience, further develop my vocals, finish school, read more and write more.

It is a pleasure to be able to write here on Fancy Nerd. We always welcome feedback and love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

