Gatsby Excitement

In the excitement of The Great Gatsby being bought to life by Bazz Lurhmann (please don’t let the rumours of retirement be true), people are re-embracing the Jazz age. Magazine covers are graced with the ethereal Carey Mulligan (who plays Daisy Buchannan,) Isla Fisher, Leonardo DiCaprio or Tobey Maguire.The Great Gatsby

Harpers Bazaar has an excellent interview with leading lady, Carey Mulligan, in their latest issue.

The bob is set to make a come back a la “the Rachel” in the 90s, or rather Louise Brooks. Brooks is the subject of the book set in the same period, The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty.

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald is on my to-read list and I am waiting as I funnel closer to the top of the reserve list at the local library.

I have always wanted to belong to a book club, but I have either never had the time or known anyone who runs one. So I stubbornly decided this was my year to do it, and, upon Carey and Leonard gatsbyfinding other like-minded people wishing for a book club in our area, I have put one together. The most excellent array of people joined us for our first meeting recently, and I am looking forward to the different critiques of our first book, The Great Gatsby.

Look out for my review of the film and the book soon.

Leave a Reply

