Luke’s Top Ten Inspirational Songs and More

Note: This is a bit of a departure from our other posts, but since I’m passionate about music, I thought I should share. I hope you enjoy it! -Luke

There are many things that shape the person that I am. And one of those things is music. I have an eclectic taste when it comes to music. I like pop, rock, country, R&B, and a little bit of hip hop. However, I mostly listen pop, which has quite a few sub-genres, such as urban, dance, rock, Latin, and country.

If I had to choose one thing important to me—along with loved ones, of course—music would be it. I would love to have a career in singing, writing my own songs and sharing them to the world, recording albums and performing live.

Here are ten songs that inspire me:

1. “Skyscraper,” Demi Lovato

“Go on and try to tear me down

I will be rising from the ground

Like a skyscraper

Like a skyscraper”

Skyscraper is one of those songs that I can relate to every word, with the lyrics focusing on staying strong and believing in yourself. Along with this, Demi’s breathy, quivering, and powerful vocals made this song even more beautiful. I tend to feel strong emotions while listening to it—even singing it myself.

Delta Goodrem Child of the Universe2. “Sitting On Top of the World,” Delta Goodrem

“You are so bright, shining above all the city lights

You know, it’s right when all of the stars in the sky align

If you and I, we are together as one tonight”

Delta has stated that “Sitting On Top of the World” is the “sunshine song” of her 2012 release, “Child of the Universe,” in a commentary on the song. It certainly had that sing-and-dance feel to it. And Delta’s vocals are more powerful than any of her previous releases. Like so many other singers, this isn’t the only Delta song that is inspirational.

Miley Cyrus The Time of Our Lives3. “The Climb,” Miley Cyrus

“I may not know it

But these are the moments that

I’m gonna remember most, yeah

Just gotta keep going”

I remember the first time I listened to this song. It was what made me admire Miley Cyrus and her music. And this song was certainly powerful, especially with Miley’s vocals and the solo piano. It’s still one of my most favourite songs.

Hunter Hayes4. “Cry With You,” Hunter Hayes

“You’re not alone

I’ll listen ’til your tears give out

You’re safe and sound, I swear that I won’t let you down”

There are so many people that are there for me, and I am always there for them, as well. This song is a great song. It makes me think about the people that I will never let down, that won’t ever let me down. At the moment, it’s my favourite Hunter Hayes song.

5. “Faith,” Celine Dion

Celine Dion – One Heart

“Faith

Right beside you is where I’ll stay

It’s not too late

Just take me as I am so please have faith”

This song is about wanting to be accepted and being loved no matter what. I definitely want to be accepted and loved for who I am. This message is very inspirational, and I agree with it one hundred percent. Of course, this isn’t the only inspirational Celine Dion song, but for me it is one of the most inspirational songs for anyone to listen to.

6. “Nobody Wants to Be Lonely,” Ricky Martin and Christina Aguilera

Ricky Martin Greatest Hits Souvenir Edition

“Time is precious and it’s slipping away

 And I’ve been waiting for you all of my life”

It’s true: Nobody wants to be lonely. This song has such beautiful lyrics and powerful vocals from Christina Aguilera. She’s one of the singers I love because of her amazing vocals. And every Ricky Martin song I’ve listened to I’ve liked (particularly She Bangs and Livin’ La Vida Loca).

7. “Change,” Taylor Swift

“Tonight we’ll stand, get off our knees

Taylor Swift Fearless

Fight for what we’ve worked for all these years

And the battle was long, it’s the fight for our lives

But we’ll stand up champions tonight”

When I first heard this song, it became my favourite song on Taylor Swift’s 2008 release, Fearless. This song talks about change in a positive way. Swift’s vocals are amazing, especially when she belts “Halleluiah.”

8. “Keep Holding On,” Avril Lavigne

“Hear me when I say, when I say I believe

Avril Lavigne The Best Damn Thing

Nothing’s gonna change, nothing’s gonna change destiny

Whatever’s meant to be will work out perfectly”

This song that completely deviates from any other song on Avril Lavigne’s 2006 release, “The Best Damn Thing.” While most of the songs are upbeat and heavy, this is a power ballad. The song is basically about being strong. Along with that message, the soaring vocals made the song complete.

9. “How Great is Our God,” Chris Tomlin


Chris Tomlin How Great is Our GodHow great is out God, and all will“How great is our God, sing with me

How great, how great is our God”

This song has been popular since it came out in 2004, sung in different types of churches all over the world. This song reminds (though I don’t need reminding) me that God is amazing 

10. “Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You),” Kelly Clarkson

“What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger

Stand a little taller

Kelly Clarkson Strong

Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone

What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter

Footsteps even lighter

Doesn’t mean I’m over ’cause you gone”

I have always loved songs of empowerment. I totally agree with the saying “What doesn’t kill you makes you strong.” This song successfully inspires a feeling of empowerment. Kelly Clarkson’s vocals were as powerful as the message.

Leave a Reply

